The Chakras

Below is details of the colours of the chakras and how they work and what they do. 

There are 7 main chakras in the body 
starting from the top of the head 
and ending right at the bottom of the spine.

Let your 8th chakra - Aura
radiate the beautiful soul that you are.

We are Atma (soul) born for a human experience; 
we are not a human born for spiritual experience. ~ Yogi Bhajan

Chakra (in Sanskrit) = Wheel / Disk

Chakras in the body are centers of exchange between the psychic and physical dimensions.  Like transformer, they change subtle prana (life energy / breathe) into physical energy flowing through a system of "nadis" (psychic channels like the meridian system of Oriental medicine).  Chakras are energy vortexes perceived as spinning discs of light situated along the spine. 

Traditionally, there are 7 Chakras and Yogi Bhajan designated the Aura (electro-magnetic field) as the 8th.  When the chakras are opened the particular talents of each are assimilated and consolidated into the character and behavior of the person.

The chakras correlate to levels of consciousness, archetypal elements, developmental stages of life, colours, sounds and body functions.